Part 3 L’art grec revisité

Venus

0%
Venus
Venus
Venus
Venus
Venus
Venus
Venus
Venus
Date de création
4th century?
Material
Marble
Dimensions
H. 77,5 x l. 28,5 x P. 20 (cm)
Inventory number
Ra 151-Ra 114

While many of the works found during the excavations of the villa were immediately given special attention and exhibited, some were relegated to the reserves. The fact that some works were not put on display can be explained. Firstly, it is important to mention the uncertainties and questions regarding the origin of a number of these sculptures: the vagueness of inventories, as well as 19th century sources, have often led curators to remain cautious and reserved when it comes to attributing certain marble items to the villa. And of course there were aesthetic biases, which resulted in some works being excluded. These obviously suffered from preconceptions based on the history of forms. They were attributed to less competent workshops, too often compared to more classical statuary, and therefore sentenced to a life in exile. And for each curator confronted with a lack of space in the exhibition areas, this sentence is validated by the obligation to make a drastic selection. Typically, this statue of Venus was no exception, as it embodies, better than any other, a type of work that is easily overlooked.

Crowned with a tiara, the figure is characterised by an unusual slimness and proportions that immediately draw one’s attention. Its elongated forms and flat buttocks and torso certainly set the work apart. When the two fragments that make up her body were discovered in 1890, Villa Chiragan was undergoing its third major official excavation campaign directed by Albert Lebègue, professor at the Faculty of Literature in Toulouse G. Perrot, « Rapport sur les fouilles de Martres, » Revue Archéologique, 18, 1891, pp. 56–73, en partic. p. 415.. The break was just above the umbilical region, and both parts were therefore stuck back together again. The right hand holding a strand of hair is said to have been unearthed at the same time É. Espérandieu, Recueil général des bas-reliefs de la Gaule romaine, 2. Aquitaine, Paris, 1908, no 903.. The head, probably discovered during the first half of the century, and already kept among the collections of the museum in Toulouse, was not reunited with its body until 1948 by Paul Mesplé P. Mesplé, « Raccords de marbres antiques, » La Revue des Musées de France, July, 1948, en partic. p. 156.. Émile Espérandieu erroneously attributed his discovery to the excavations led by Léon Joulin in 1897-1899 É. Espérandieu, Recueil général des bas-reliefs de la Gaule romaine, 2. Aquitaine, Paris, 1908, no 905.. This head may have been mentioned on the first page, now unfortunately missing, of the handwritten notebook corresponding to the discoveries of the 19th and 20th September 1826 J.-C. Balty, D. Cazes, Les portraits romains, 1 : Époque julio-claudienne, 1.1 (Sculptures antiques de Chiragan (Martres-Tolosane), Toulouse, 2005, p. 35..

Description

This Venus is entirely naked. The weight of the body is resting on the left leg. Her head is turned to the left, and slightly bent forward. The bust is particularly slender, the breasts small, and the pelvis, which is wide but very short, contrasts with the upper part of the body. The neck, finally, which is long and thin when viewed from the front, appears thicker when viewed from the left, looking more like a cylinder whose connection with the face (which is delicate and clearly oval in shape) appears less natural. On her head she wears a smooth tiara. Two strands of hair have escaped from her chignon, one straying over her left shoulder and the other over her right arm. They were probably damaged and restored using stucco, as the marks made at shoulder blade level with a point tend to prove, as these could correspond to so many pit marks made to facilitate the adherence of the stucco. Five points of contact, four at the top of the right thigh, and another in the lower abdominal area, show that the left hand was positioned in front of the pubic area. On the left thigh, at the level of the vastus lateralis muscle, a tenon indicates the position formerly occupied by the element that once ensured the statue’s stability. Three points of contact on the hip probably correspond to the end of the caudal fin of a dolphin, endowed, according to the ancient iconographic tradition regarding this animal, with several appendages. The cetacean’s head probably rested directly on a moulded plinth, a block shared by the goddess and her seafaring companion.

A famous model…

This work has been said to be a very late variant of the Knidian Aphrodite, an illustrious and recurring model created in the workshop of Praxiteles around 360 BC (missing reference). The original, made of marble, and intended as an ode to the beauty of the beloved Phryne, whose radiant silhouette could but suit the goddess of Cyprus, is now lost. The Roman version at the Vatican Museums, known as the « Venus of the Belvedere » (inv. 4260), is said to adhere to the same design. But this body, whose total and radiant nudity did not require superfluous finery, referred to a bodily beauty hitherto limited only to the male anatomy. It generated an infinite number of copies and all kinds of by-products, as evidenced by the variants attributed to oriental workshops. Driven by a constantly growing market of collectors, between the end of the 2nd century BC and the course of the following century, the sculptors of Rhodes or Alexandria designed a medium-sized statuary, often full of references and allusions to the masterpieces produced during the classical period. Such is the case of a Rhodian Aphrodite Anadyomene in particular, whose body, when seen from the sides, is characterised by its very slim frame F. Queyrel, La sculpture hellénistique , Tome 1 : Formes, thèmes et fonctions (La sculpture grecque , 3; Les manuels d’art et d’archéologie antiques), Paris, 2016, p. 95-96, fig. 77 ; Ó. Palaggiá, M.D. Fullerton, « Atticism, Classicism and the Origins of Neo-Attic Sculpture, » W.D.E. Coulson, American school of classical studies at Athens (eds.), Regional Schools in Hellenistic Sculpture : Proceedings of an International Conference Held at the American School of Classical Studies at Athens, March 15-17, 1996 (Oxbow Monograph), Oxford, 1998, pp. 93–99, pp. 94-99..

It is widely known that the reproduction industry and Western commercial outlets were to prove fundamental in passing on mythological references from the ancient Greek civilization to rich buyers eager to collect and display them around their homes and even in associative and commercial premises. The decorative statuary designed especially for them was not devoid of sensuality and even humorous details, as well as delightful anecdotal references (Pan and Aphrodite commissioned by the Beiruti merchants’ association of Delos, and now kept at the National Museum of Athens, is a good example of this).

Some five hundred years later, the Venus discovered at Villa Chiragan is the natural heiress of such compositions. The left hand held in front of the pubic area, a gesture intended to convey her modesty but also to draw attention to the vigorous fertility of this daughter of Uranus, maintains a direct link with Praxiteles’ masterpiece. It is indeed reminiscent of the sculpture acquired by the island of Knidos, to which the leftward position of the head and gaze also refer A. Corso, The Art of Praxiteles, II : The Mature Years (Studia Archeologica), Rome, 2007, pp. 9-22.. With this statue of Venus however, it is the left hand that is held in front of the genitals. This inversion can be explained by the aesthetic variations, of which there are very few considering the number of centuries that have gone by, that nevertheless act as so many filters between the original work and the works produced during the imperial period. The most famous of these derivatives, which is characteristic of this inverted gesture, is of the pudica type, also known as the Venus de’ Medici. It is also worth noting the position of the right arm, which is also broken, but still bears a stray strand of hair. Her arm was vigorously held aloft in a gestures reminiscent of the Aphrodite Anadyomene, a creation of the painter Apelles of Kos, if we are to believe Athenaeus Athénée, Deipnosophistes, 3rd century, XIII, 59.. She is also said to have been inspired by the bewitching courtesan Phryne Athénée, Deipnosophistes, 3rd century, XIII, 59..

Exported to Rome following the Roman conquests at the end of the Republic, and exhibited on the orders of Augustus in the temple of Caesar according to Pliny, Apelles’s tablet (pinax) was severely damaged before being reproduced during the reign of Nero Pline l’Ancien, Histoire naturelle, 77 (circa), 36.28.. In the same way that we imagine that Praxiteles’ Venus is about to enter the water A. Corso, The Art of Praxiteles, II : The Mature Years (Studia Archeologica), Rome, 2007, p. 14., we can easily picture that the anadyomene is emerging from it, gathering her wet hair with both hands on either side of her head as she does, to wring the water from it. This gesture would be reminiscent of that of the athlete tying his headband, a famous marble statue known as Diadumenos created by Polyclitus C. Rolley, La sculpture grecque , 2 : La période classique (Les manuels d’art et d’archéologie antique), Paris, 1999, pp. 35-36.. This in the round anadyomene, a female transposition of the work attributed to Polykleitos, was probably created in the fruitful context of Alexandrian workshops during the first century BC. It emphasises and conveys the Greek concept of charis (grace) of this female body with its distinctive curves, full lines, wide hips and small, firm breasts. Like her pubic hair, the hair on her head is shown to symbolise the fertile power of women, as well as their seductive power and strong urge to please L. Bodiou et al., « La chevelure d’Aphrodite et la magie amoureuse, » L’expression des corps : gestes, attitudes, regards dans l’iconographie antique (Cahiers d’histoire du corps antique), Rennes, 2006, p. 187.. The twisting of the wet hair would appear to refer to a different form of bondage: that of bound breasts, a symbolic gesture that stems from a long tradition in the Eastern world L.M. De Matteis, « Sull’Afrodite anadyomene, » Cháris Chaíre, Athens, 2004, pp. 125–133, p. 129..

…but a model that has been readapted

Although the system of ideal proportions adopted for the representation of Venus during the classical period depended on a canon that gave pride of place to round, robust forms, there is nothing of the kind in our sculpture. The fact that this work was relegated to the museum’s reserves, and the unjustified indifference towards it, could be explained as we have said, by aesthetic differences when compared to the prototype: unattractive proportions, the unconventional slenderness of her thorax, the flatness of the whole body characterised by the unformed buttocks that extend her already unshapely back, and finally the neck, which resembles a long cylinder when viewed from the front, and is too thick when viewed from the side. When seen from the left, its very abrupt and seamless connection with the face is unsightly.

While Venus’s body appears particularly flat and slender when viewed from behind, and even more so when seen from a three-quarter angle, it may well be that this elongation and deformation is based on a particular taste and, obviously a style introduced in certain oriental workshops during the last centuries of antiquity L.M. Stirling, « Gods, Heroes, and Ancestors : Scuptural Decoration in Late-Antique Aquitania, » La Civilisation Urbaine de l’Antiquité Tardive Dans Le Sud-Ouest de La Gaule. Actes Du Ille Colloque Aquitania et Des XVIe Journées d’Archéologie Mérovingienne Toulouse 23-24 Juin 1995, Bordeaux, 1996 (2), pp. 209–230, p. 215 ; L.M. Stirling, « Divinities and Heroes in the Age of Ausonius : A Late-Antique Villa and Sculptural Collection at Saint-Georges-de-Montagne (Gironde), » Revue Archéologique, 1, 1996 (1), pp. 103–143, en partic. pp. 103-143.. To understand this, we need to refer to a group of statues from the Cyrene Sculpture Museum (missing reference), which were nevertheless probably produced at an earlier date, as well as a Artemis of the Rospigliosi-Latran type, Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresdeseries of medium-sized statues kept in Dresden (of the « Rospigliosi-Latran » type), (missing reference)), whose very slim torsos associated with solid lower limbs, border on the strange, and allow for a graphic rather than a realistic representation of the body M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden, 1999, pl. 56-57.. Some other elements betray this aesthetic trend, such as the S-shaped curl on the forehead, the slightly abrupt transitions of the outlines of the face, the eyebrows that form an acute angle, and the deep furrows that separate the wavy strands of hair in a rather artificial way. These characteristics allow us to link together a series of works, the late dating of which was appropriately justified by Marianne Bergmann: Hygieia of Rhodes M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden, 1999, 51, pl. 49-1., female heads from Dijon M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden, 1999, p. 45, p. 47, pl. 55-2, 56-2. and Chiragan M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden, 1999, p. 54, pl. 55-3.4, 56-3., Apollo from Saint-Georges-de-Montagne, M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden, 1999, p. 54, pl. 55-1, 56-4. as well as a large female portrait at the Musei capitolini M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden, 1999, 61-63 ; K.T. Erim, Aphrodisias : City of Venus Aphrodite, London, 1986 ; M. Floriani Squarciapino, La Scuola di Afrodisia : Studi e materiali del Museo dell’Impero romano. 3, Rome, 1943..

Venus is apparently, and by far, the most popular mythological figure in villae in activity during this period, followed by representations of satyrs, which evoked the other dominant god: Dionysus C. Videbech, « Private Collections of Sculpture in Late Antiquity : An Overview of the Form, Function, and Tradition, » J. Fejfer, M. Moltesen, A. Rathje (eds.), Tradition : Transmission of Culture in the Ancient World (Acta Hyperborea), Copenhagen, 2015, pp. 451–480, p. 473.. Characterised as it is by its hybrid gestures, Chiragan’s sculpture therefore belongs to a later period, during which such small and medium sized statues flourished, and were distributed in entrances, dining rooms and baths, and of course gardens, some in private spheres, and others in semi-public and even public areas.

P. Capus

Bibliography

  • Bergmann 1999 M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden
    .
  • Capus 2020 P. Capus, « La minceur de Vénus : Une statue oubliée de la villa de Chiragan, » Maigreur et minceur dans les sociétés anciennes. Grèce, Orient, Rome (Scripta Antiqua), Toulouse, PLH-CRATA, Université de Toulouse Jean-Jaurès, pp. p. 163–170
    .
  • Cazes, Guilbaut, Martinaud 2005 D. Cazes, J.-E. Guilbaut, M. Martinaud, « Martres-Tolosane, » Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles (Midi-Pyrénées), Service Régional de l’Archéologie (eds.), Bilan scientifique de la région Midi-Pyrénées: 2001, Paris, p. 74
    .
  • Espérandieu 1908 É. Espérandieu, Recueil général des bas-reliefs de la Gaule romaine, 2. Aquitaine, Paris
    .
    no 903, 905
  • Joulin 1901 L. Joulin, Les établissements gallo-romains de la plaine de Martres-Tolosane, Paris
    .
    p. 95-96, pl. X, no 123 D, no 128 E
  • Mesplé 1948 P. Mesplé, « Raccords de marbres antiques, » La Revue des Musées de France, July
    .
    p. 156
  • Perrot 1891 G. Perrot, « Rapport sur les fouilles de Martres, » Revue Archéologique, 18, pp. 56–73
    .
    p. 64
  • Rachou 1912 H. Rachou, Catalogue des collections de sculpture et d’épigraphie du musée de Toulouse, Toulouse
    .
    no 114, no 151
  • Stirling 1996 (2) L.M. Stirling, « Gods, Heroes, and Ancestors : Scuptural Decoration in Late-Antique Aquitania, » La Civilisation Urbaine de l’Antiquité Tardive Dans Le Sud-Ouest de La Gaule. Actes Du Ille Colloque Aquitania et Des XVIe Journées d’Archéologie Mérovingienne Toulouse 23-24 Juin 1995, Bordeaux, pp. 209–230
    .
  • Stirling 2005 L.M. Stirling, The Learned Collector : Mythological Statuettes and Classical Taste in Late Antique Gaul, Ann Arbor
    .
  • Musée Saint-Raymond 2020 Musée Saint-Raymond, Wisigoths : rois de Toulouse. Exhibition, Musée Saint-Raymond, Toulouse, 27 February - 27 December 2020, Toulouse
    .
    p. 169-179 (notice P. Capus)
  • Musée Saint-Raymond 2010 Musée Saint-Raymond, Dieux du ciel ! L’irruption de l’espace. Exhibition, Musée Saint-Raymond, Toulouse, 2010, Toulouse
    .
    p. 49
  • Musée Saint-Raymond 2019 Musée Saint-Raymond, Age of Classics ! L’Antiquité dans la culture pop. Exhibition, Musée Saint-Raymond, Toulouse, 22 February - 22 September 2019, Toulouse
    .
    repr. p. 225

To cite this notice

Capus P., "Venus", in The sculptures of the roman villa of Chiragan, Toulouse, 2019, online <https://villachiragan.saintraymond.toulouse.fr/en/ark:/87276/a_ra_151_ra_114>.

Partie 3 L’art grec revisité

Vénus

0%
Vénus
Vénus
Vénus
Vénus
Vénus
Vénus
Vénus
Vénus
Date de création
IVe siècle ?
Matériau
Marbre
Dimensions
H. 77,5 x l. 28,5 x P. 20 (cm)
Numéro d’inventaire
Ra 151-Ra 114

Si nombre des œuvres venues des fouilles de la villa ont immédiatement fait l’objet d’une mise en valeur particulière et d’une exposition immédiate, certaines d’entre elles furent reléguées dans les réserves. Ce bannissement des espaces d’exposition s’explique. Il faut, en premier lieu, mentionner les incertitudes et questionnements relatifs à la provenance d’un certain nombre de ces sculptures ; l’imprécision des inventaires, comme des sources du XIXe siècle, ont souvent conduit les conservateurs à demeurer prudents et réservés quant à l’attribution d’un certain nombre de marbres à la villa. On ne peut ensuite ignorer les partis pris esthétiques, qui ont conduit à exclure certaines œuvres ; celles-ci ont, de toute évidence, pâti des a priori relevant de l’histoire des formes. Attribuées à quelque atelier moins compétent, trop souvent comparées à une statuaire d’essence plus classique, ces oeuvres furent condamnées à l’exil. Une condamnation entérinée, pour chaque conservateur confronté au manque d’espace des surfaces d’exposition, par l’obligation d’opérer une sélection drastique. De manière exemplaire, cette statue de Vénus fut victime de ces raisons. Elle incarne, mieux que tout autre, un type d’œuvre plus aisément mis en retrait .

Couronnée d’un diadème, la figure se distingue par une minceur et des proportions inhabituelles qui attirent immédiatement l’attention. L’élongation de ses formes, associée à la platitude de son fessier comme de son torse, rendent assurément l’œuvre singulière. Lorsque les deux fragments qui la composent furent découverts, en 1890, la villa de Chiragan connaissait sa troisième grande campagne officielle de fouilles, dirigée par Albert Lebègue, professeur à la Faculté des lettres de Toulouse G. Perrot, « Rapport sur les fouilles de Martres », Revue Archéologique, 18, 1891, p. 56‑73, en partic. p. 415.. Le bris se situait au-dessus de la région ombilicale. Les deux parties furent réunies par un collage. La main droite, tenant une mèche de cheveu, aurait été simultanément mise au jour É. Espérandieu, Recueil général des bas-reliefs de la Gaule romaine, 2. Aquitaine, Paris, 1908, no 903.. La tête, probablement découverte durant la première moitié du siècle et déjà conservée dans les collections du musée de Toulouse, ne fut mise en rapport avec le corps qu’en 1948, par Paul Mesplé P. Mesplé, « Raccords de marbres antiques », La Revue des Musées de France, juillet, 1948, en partic. p. 156.. Émile Espérandieu attribua erronément sa découverte aux fouilles de 1897-1899, menées par Léon Joulin É. Espérandieu, Recueil général des bas-reliefs de la Gaule romaine, 2. Aquitaine, Paris, 1908, no 905.. Peut-être était-il fait mention de cette tête dans le premier feuillet, malheureusement disparu, du cahier manuscrit correspondant aux découvertes des 19 et 20 septembre 1826 J.-C. Balty, D. Cazes, Les portraits romains , 1 : Époque julio-claudienne, 1.1 (Sculptures antiques de Chiragan (Martres-Tolosane), Toulouse, 2005, p. 35..

Description

Vénus est entièrement nue. Le corps prend appui sur la jambe gauche. Elle tourne la tête vers la gauche et se courbe légèrement vers l’avant. Le buste est particulièrement étroit, les seins petits, tandis que le bassin, large mais très peu profond, contraste avec la partie supérieure du corps. Le cou, enfin, long et fin lorsqu’on l’observe de face, gagne en épaisseur vu depuis la gauche, prenant davantage l’aspect d’un cylindre dont la jonction avec le visage (fin et à l’ovale bien marqué) devient plus artificielle. La tête est coiffée d’un diadème lisse. Deux mèches s’échappaient librement d’un chignon pour revenir sur l’épaule gauche et sur le bras droit. Elles furent probablement dégradées et restaurées, en stuc, comme le prouveraient les marques exécutées à la pointe, en haut du dos, qui pourraient correspondre à autant de points d’accroche du matériau de substitution. Cinq points de contact, quatre en haut de la cuisse droite et un autre dans la zone inguinale, témoignent de la position de la main gauche, ramenée en avant du pubis. Sur la cuisse gauche, au niveau du muscle vaste latéral, un tenon signale l’élément qui, à l’origine, accompagnait Vénus et permettait une bonne stabilité à la statue. Trois points de contact, sur la hanche, correspondent, sans doute, à l’extrémité de la nageoire caudale d’un dauphin, pourvue, selon la tradition iconographique antique afférente à cet animal, de plusieurs appendices. La tête du cétacé reposait probablement directement sur une base moulurée, commune à la déesse et à son attribut marin.

Un modèle célèbre…

On a pu voir dans l’œuvre un dérivé, très tardif, de l’Aphrodite cnidienne, illustre et récurrent modèle, né dans l’atelier de Praxitèle vers 360 avant n. è. (missing reference). Ode à la beauté de la bien-aimée Phryné, dont l’éclat des formes ne pouvait que convenir à la déesse de Chypre, l’œuvre originale, conçue dans le marbre, est aujourd’hui perdue. La version romaine des Musées du Vatican, dite « Vénus du Belvédère » (inv. 4260), en respecterait le schéma. Mais ce corps dont l’intégrale et éclatante nudité ne réclamait pas d’atours superflus, renvoyait à une beauté corporelle jusque-là réservée au seul corps masculin. Il généra une production infinie de copies et dérivés de toute sorte. En témoignent les déclinaisons attribuées à des ateliers orientaux. Dynamisés par un marché toujours croissant de collectionneurs, les sculpteurs de Rhodes ou d’Alexandrie conçoivent en effet, entre la fin du IIe siècle avant n. è. et le cours du siècle suivant, une statuaire de taille moyenne, souvent prolixe en références et clins d’œil aux chefs-d’œuvre de l’époque classique. C’est notamment le cas d’une Aphrodite anadyomène rhodienne, dont le corps, lorsqu’il est vu depuis les côtés, se distingue par la faible épaisseur F. Queyrel, La sculpture hellénistique , Tome 1 : Formes, thèmes et fonctions (La sculpture grecque , 3; Les manuels d’art et d’archéologie antiques), Paris, 2016, p. 95-96, fig. 77 ; Ó. Palaggiá, M.D. Fullerton, « Atticism, Classicism and the Origins of Neo-Attic Sculpture », W.D.E. Coulson, American school of classical studies at Athens (éd.), Regional Schools in Hellenistic Sculpture : Proceedings of an International Conference Held at the American School of Classical Studies at Athens, March 15-17, 1996 (Oxbow Monograph), Oxford, 1998, p. 93‑99, p. 94-99..

On sait combien l’industrie de la copie, et les débouchés commerciaux occidentaux, serviront de passage de témoin fondamental entre la vieille civilisation hellénique et les riches acheteurs, avides de références mythologiques dans le déploiement de leurs pièces d’habitation, voire de leurs locaux associatifs et commerciaux. La statuaire décorative qui leur est destinée n’est pas exempte de sensualité voire de détails humoristiques et de références anecdotiques savoureuses (Le groupe de Pan et Aphrodite, de l’association des commerçants beyrouthins de Délos, conservé au musée national d’Athènes, en est un bon exemple).

La Vénus de Chiragan est l’héritière, quelque cinq cents ans plus tard, de ces compositions. La main gauche ramenée en avant du pubis, geste de pudeur aussi bien que d’ostentation de la puissance fécondante de la fille d’Ouranos, entretient un lien direct avec le chef-d’œuvre de Praxitèle ; il rappelle bien la sculpture acquise par l’île de Cnide, à laquelle fait également référence la position de la tête et le regard tourné vers la gauche A. Corso, The Art of Praxiteles, II : The Mature Years (Studia Archeologica), Rome, 2007, p. 9-22.. On constate cependant que la main ramenée au-devant des organes génitaux de notre Vénus est ici la gauche. Cette inversion s’explique par les variations esthétiques, bien minimes il est vrai si l’on tient compte du nombre de siècles écoulés, qui sont autant de filtres déposés entre l’œuvre originelle et les créations de l’époque impériale. Le plus célèbre de ces dérivés, caractéristique de cette inversion du geste, est représenté par le type pudica, dit aussi Vénus Médicis. Il faut également noter la position du bras droit, certes brisé lui aussi, mais encore agrémenté d’une mèche retombant de la longue chevelure. Vénus relevait vigoureusement ce membre. Il s’agit là, davantage, d’une reprise de la gestuelle de l’Aphrodite dite « anadyomène », création du peintre Apelle, s’il faut en croire Athénée Athénée, Deipnosophistes, IIIe siècle, XIII, 59.. Elle aurait été, elle aussi, inspirée par l’envoûtante courtisane Phryné Athénée, Deipnosophistes, IIIe siècle, XIII, 59..

Exporté vers Rome, suite aux conquêtes romaines de la fin de la République, et exposé sur ordre d’Auguste dans le temple de César, d’après Pline, le tableau (pynax) d’Apelle subit une forte dégradation, avant d’être reproduit sous le règne de Néron Pline l’Ancien, Histoire naturelle, 77 (circa), 36.28. ; si l’on a pu imaginer que la Vénus de Praxitèle s’apprêtait à entrer au bain A. Corso, The Art of Praxiteles, II : The Mature Years (Studia Archeologica), Rome, 2007, p. 14., l’anadyomène en sortirait, empoignant sa chevelure de ses deux mains, de part et d’autre de sa tête, afin de l’essorer. Le geste rappelait celui de l’athlète ceignant son bandeau, célèbre marbre de Polyclète, connu sous le nom de Diadumène C. Rolley, La sculpture grecque , 2 : La période classique (Les manuels d’art et d’archéologie antique), Paris, 1999, p. 35-36.. La ronde-bosse de l’anadyomène, transposition féminine de l’œuvre attribuée à Polyclète, fut probablement créée dans le contexte fécond des ateliers alexandrins du Ier siècle avant n. è. Il développe et diffuse la charis (la grâce) grecque de ce corps féminin dominée par la courbe, les lignes pleines, les hanches larges et le sein menu et ferme. La chevelure devint symbole, au même titre que le pubis, de la puissance féminine fécondante mais également de la séduction et du besoin impérieux de plaire L. Bodiou et al., « La chevelure d’Aphrodite et la magie amoureuse », L’expression des corps : gestes, attitudes, regards dans l’iconographie antique (Cahiers d’histoire du corps antique), Rennes, 2006, p. 187.. Tordre cet attribut renverrait également, sous une autre forme, à la compression des seins, un geste symbolique issu d’une longue tradition en Orient L.M. De Matteis, « Sull’Afrodite anadyomene », Cháris Chaíre, Athènes, 2004, p. 125‑133, p. 129..

…mais réadapté

Si le système de proportion adopté pour les Vénus de l’époque classique dépendait donc d’un canon faisant la part belle aux formes rondes et charpentées, rien de tel dans notre sculpture. La relégation de l’œuvre dans les réserves et l’indifférence, bien injustifiée, à son égard, pourraient s’expliquer, nous l’avons dit, par des discordances esthétiques vis-à-vis du prototype : des proportions ingrates, l’affinement peu conventionnel de son thorax, la platitude de l’ensemble du corps, caractérisée par l’écrasement du fessier, qui prolonge sans variation un dos lui-même sans relief et, enfin, le cou, semblable à un long cylindre de face et trop large vu depuis le côté. Depuis la gauche, le raccord sans transition, très abrupt, avec le visage heurte la vue.

Si le corps de Vénus paraît particulièrement plat et fin vu de l’arrière, plus particulièrement de trois quarts, il se pourrait bien que cette élongation et ces déformations répondent à un goût particulier et, de toute évidence, à un style, celui qui fut mis en place au sein de certains ateliers orientaux durant les derniers siècles de l’Antiquité L.M. Stirling, « Gods, Heroes, and Ancestors : Scuptural Decoration in Late-Antique Aquitania », La Civilisation Urbaine de l’Antiquité Tardive Dans Le Sud-Ouest de La Gaule. Actes Du Ille Colloque Aquitania et Des XVIe Journées d’Archéologie Mérovingienne Toulouse 23-24 Juin 1995, Bordeaux, 1996 (2), p. 209‑230, p. 215 ; L.M. Stirling, « Divinities and Heroes in the Age of Ausonius : A Late-Antique Villa and Sculptural Collection at Saint-Georges-de-Montagne (Gironde) », Revue Archéologique, 1, 1996 (1), p. 103‑143, en partic. p. 103-143.. On se référera à un groupe statuaire du musée de Cyrène Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC). V. 1, Herakles - Kenchrias, Zürich ; Munich, 1990, II, 1, 157, 69 ; II, 2, 161, fig. 69., néanmoins probablement plus précoce, mais également à une Artemis du type Rospigliosi, Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresdesérie de statues de moyen format, conservées à Dresde (Elle procède du type « Rospigliosi-Latran » Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC). V. 1, Herakles - Kenchrias, Zürich ; Munich, 1990, II, 1, 646, 251 - 283.), dont les torses très affinés, s’opposant à des membres inférieurs massifs, confinent à l’étrange et permettent d’abonder dans le sens d’une corporalité plus graphique que réaliste M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden, 1999, pl. 56-57.. Certains autres éléments trahissent cette esthétique, notamment la boucle en forme de S sur le front, les transitions un peu abruptes des plans de taille au niveau du visage, les arcades sourcilières formant un angle aigu, les sillons profonds créant une division synthétique des mèches ondulées. Ces caractéristiques permettent de relier entre elles une série d’œuvres, dont la datation tardive a été pertinemment justifiée par Marianne Bergmann : Hygie de Rhodes M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden, 1999, 51, pl. 49-1., têtes féminines de Dijon M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden, 1999, p. 45, p. 47, pl. 55-2, 56-2. et Chiragan M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden, 1999, p. 54, pl. 55-3.4, 56-3., d’Apollon à Saint-Georges-de-Montagne M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden, 1999, p. 54, pl. 55-1, 56-4. ou encore un grand portrait féminin des musées du Capitole M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden, 1999, 61-63 ; K.T. Erim, Aphrodisias : City of Venus Aphrodite, Londres, 1986 ; M. Floriani Squarciapino, La Scuola di Afrodisia : Studi e materiali del Museo dell’Impero romano. 3, Rome, 1943..

Vénus représente apparemment, de loin, la figure mythologique la plus fréquente au sein des villae en activité durant cette période, après les représentations de satyres, qui se faisaient l’écho de l’autre dieu dominant : Dionysos C. Videbech, « Private Collections of Sculpture in Late Antiquity : An Overview of the Form, Function, and Tradition », J. Fejfer, M. Moltesen, A. Rathje (éd.), Tradition : Transmission of Culture in the Ancient World (Acta Hyperborea), Copenhague, 2015, p. 451‑480, p. 473.. Caractérisée par sa gestuelle hybride, la sculpture de Chiragan correspond donc à une époque tardive durant laquelle fleurit cette petite et moyenne statuaire, distribuée dans les entrées, les salles à manger et les thermes, sans oublier les jardins. Des espaces voués à un usage privé pour certains, semi-public, voire public, pour d’autres.

P. Capus

Bibliographie

  • Bergmann 1999 M. Bergmann, Chiragan, Aphrodisias, Konstantinopel : zur mythologischen Skulptur der Spätantike (Palilia), Wiesbaden
    .
  • Besnard, Scapin 2019 T.-A. Besnard, M. Scapin, Age of Classics ! L’Antiquité dans la culture pop. Exposition, Musée Saint-Raymond, Toulouse, 22 février-22 septembre 2019, Toulouse
    .
  • Cazes et al. 2005 D. Cazes, J.-E. Guilbaut, M. Martinaud, J.-E. Guilbaut, M. Martinaud, « Martres-Tolosane », Direction Régionale des Affaires Culturelles (Midi-Pyrénées), Service Régional de l’Archéologie (éd.), Bilan scientifique de la région Midi-Pyrénées: 2001, Paris, p. 74
    .
  • Espérandieu 1908 É. Espérandieu, Recueil général des bas-reliefs de la Gaule romaine, 2. Aquitaine, Paris
    .
  • Joulin 1901 L. Joulin, Les établissements gallo-romains de la plaine de Martres-Tolosane, Paris
    .
  • Mesplé 1948 P. Mesplé, « Raccords de marbres antiques », La Revue des Musées de France, juillet
    .
  • Perrot 1891 G. Perrot, « Rapport sur les fouilles de Martres », Revue Archéologique, 18, p. 56‑73
    .
  • Rachou 1912 H. Rachou, Catalogue des collections de sculpture et d’épigraphie du musée de Toulouse, Toulouse
    .
  • Stirling 1996 (2) L.M. Stirling, « Gods, Heroes, and Ancestors : Scuptural Decoration in Late-Antique Aquitania », La Civilisation Urbaine de l’Antiquité Tardive Dans Le Sud-Ouest de La Gaule. Actes Du Ille Colloque Aquitania et Des XVIe Journées d’Archéologie Mérovingienne Toulouse 23-24 Juin 1995, Bordeaux, p. 209‑230
    .
  • Stirling 2005 L.M. Stirling, The Learned Collector : Mythological Statuettes and Classical Taste in Late Antique Gaul, Ann Arbor
    .
  • Musée Saint-Raymond 2010 Musée Saint-Raymond, Dieux du ciel ! L’irruption de l’espace. Exposition, Musée Saint-Raymond, Toulouse, 2010, Toulouse
    .

Pour citer cette notice

Capus P., "Vénus", dans Les sculptures de la villa romaine de Chiragan, Toulouse, 2019, en ligne <https://villachiragan.saintraymond.toulouse.fr/ark:/87276/a_ra_151_ra_114>.